Colts player nominated for NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year award

Darius Butler of the Indianapolis Colts has been nominated for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award given by the NFL.

Others of the 32 nominees include J.J. Watt, Greg Olsen and Alex Smith. Each team nominates one man for the award, which honors a player’s work away from the game and his demeanor during play.

A selection panel is asked to vote for players based on involvement in the community and performance on the playing field.