Indiana’s delegation split along party lines on impeachment

("Indiana Statehouse" by Shawna Pierson, CC BY 2.0)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Indiana’s delegation split along party lines as the U.S. House impeached President Donald Trump for “incitement of insurrection” over the deadly mob siege of the Capitol.

The state’s seven Republican House members on Wednesday voted against impeaching the president, while the two Democrats favored the impeachment of Trump. With the Capitol secured by armed National Guard troops inside and out, the House voted 232-197 to impeach Trump for a second time. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi implored lawmakers to uphold their oath to defend the Constitution from all enemies, foreign “and domestic.”

Trump ally Kevin McCarthy, the House Republican leader, said the president bears responsibility for the invasion of the Capitol, but voted against impeachment.