Number Of Candidates File For May Election In First Week

Kosciusko County Building. (Photo: Nick Deranek/News Now Warsaw)

Election filing for the 2020 primary started Wednesday, and by Friday morning, almost a dozen people filed at the office of the Kosciusko County Clerk for Circuit and Superior Courts, while some additional candidates filed down at the state.

All those who filed in Kosciusko County were Republicans.

Filing deadline is Feb. 7.

Incumbent Ann Torpy, of Mentone, filed for clerk, while incumbent Michael Kissinger, of North Webster, filed for county surveyor.

Marcia Baumgartner, of Milford, filed to run for county commissioner for the northern district. Incumbent Brad Jackson has indicated he will run for one more four-year term, but had not filed as of Friday.

Robert Bishop and Karin McGrath, both of Warsaw, both filed for Kosciusko County Superior Court III judge. Joe Sutton, incumbent, is retiring after his term ends at year’s end.

Seeking a second term will be at-large County Councilwoman Joni Truex, Warsaw.

Superior Court I Judge David C. Cates filed to seek another term, as did at-large County Councilwoman Sue Ann Mitchell, Superior Court IV Judge Christopher Kehler and at-large County Councilwoman Kimberly Cates.

Torrey J. Bauer, Republican, incumbent judge of Kosciusko Superior Court II, has filed his candidacy with the Indiana Secretary of State.

A list of the county candidates is maintained online at under “Elections.”

Those seeking to represent the area who have filed with the Indiana Secretary of State in Indianapolis by Friday include Blake Doriot, Republican, State Senator, District 12; Stacey A. Donato, Republican, State Senator, District 18; Russell “Russ” Reahard, Republican, State Representative District 18; Chad Harris, Democrat, State Representative District 18; Bill Dixon, Republican, State Representative, District 22; Christopher Magiera, Republican, U.S. Representative, 3rd District.