Tippecanoe Valley School Will Recognize Teacher Of The Year Monday

Tippecanoe Valley School Board will have its Teacher of the Year Award presentation during the Monday meeting.

One teacher from each of the school buildings was chosen as the teacher of the year for the school. A committee will pick one of the four teachers as the teacher of the year for the corporation, Conley said.

Lee Ann Rock, fourth-grade teacher at Mentone Elementary, will retire at the end of the school year. She will be recognized during Monday’s meeting. She has 44 years in education, Conley said.

Caroline Day has been recognized as an Armstrong teacher award winner, Conley said.

When the corporation identifies its teacher of the year, the school corporation also asks that teacher to fill out other applications from organizations that recognize great teachers in the state, he said. Day is one of 12 teachers to be recognized in Indiana through Indiana University School of Education.

Day, Rock and the teachers of the year will be recognized with a reception at 5:30 p.m. Monday.

The school board will also be asked to approve several grants and donations.

One of the biggest is a $20,000 donation from AkzoNobel for small playground and courtyard updates at one of its elementary schools, Conley said.

Another grant is for $10,000 from K21 Health Foundation for the school’s RULER social-emotional learning training and curriculum pilot. Lori Tilden-Geiger, director of marketing, public relations and grants will talk about the grant during Monday’s meeting.

In other business, the board will announce the building trades open house in Claypool, Conley said.

Building Trades instructor Wes Backus and the students have done a wonderful job with the house, Conley said. The program has flourished  and “these are excellent skills our kids are learning from Wes.”