Two Kosciusko County townships could be eliminated under consolidation bill

Two townships in Kosciusko County are among those that state lawmakers are considering consolidating.

If the township government consolidation bill is passed, Monroe and Franklin Townships would be forced to merge with a neighbor, leaving one elected supervisor and township board instead of two.

They are just two of 309 township governments in the Hoosier state that would be affected. All targeted townships have populations of 1200 or less, according to WNDU.

House Republicans identified the consolidation bill as one of the top priorities for the 2018 session.

Other Northern Indiana townships that would be affected are Davis and Jackson in Starke County, Dewey and Hannah in LaPorte County, and Green in Marshall County.