Optimist Club announces oratorical and essay winners

Pictured from left, are Lynk Klinefelter, Bryttin Wagoner, Caleb Smith and Optimist Shari Benyouski. Photo provided.
News Release

WARSAW — Warsaw Breakfast Optimist Club proudly announces the successful conclusion of its 2024 Oratorical and Essay Contests, which culminated in an awards ceremony held at a recent club meeting.

The event showcased the talent and dedication of local students in the realms of public
speaking and writing.

The Oratorical and Essay Contests, long-standing traditions of the Warsaw Breakfast Optimist Club, aim to encourage and recognize excellence in communication skills among youth in the community.

Participants were tasked to either write an essay with the theme “Optimism: How it
Connects Us” or a speech with this year’s theme, Discovering the Optimist Within Me.

The following students emerged as the winners of the 2024 Oratorical and Essay Contest:

Oratorical Contest Winners:

First Place: Shashank Upadhyay of Warsaw High School

Second Place: Emilia Samaranayake of Warsaw High School

Essay Contest Winners:

First Place: Caleb Smith of Warsaw Community High School

Second Place: Bryttin Wagoner of Lincoln Elementary School

Third Place: Lynk Klinefelter of Wawasee High School

These young individuals have demonstrated exceptional talent, creativity, and a deep
understanding of our themes. Their speeches and essays were inspiring, showcasing a genuine optimism for the future.

During the awards ceremony, winners read or performed and were presented with certificates of achievement, medals, and/or monetary prizes or Kosciusko Cash to honor their hard work and dedication.

The Warsaw Breakfast Optimist Club extends its gratitude to all participants, judges,
sponsors, and volunteers who contributed to the success of this year’s contest. Through events like these, the club remains committed to fostering optimism, leadership, and academic success among youth in Warsaw and beyond.

For more information about the Warsaw Breakfast Optimist Club and its initiatives, please visit the warsaw optimist website.

From left are winners in the Oratorical Contest: Emilia Samaranayake, Margareta Loebs, Neil Viswanadha and Shashank Upadhyay. Upadhyay won first place. In back, is Oratorical Contest chairman Jeff Owens. Photo provided.