Recently-elected Claypool council member resigns

By David Slone

WARSAW — Less than three months after winning the election for the Claypool Town Board middle district seat, Nate Morton has resigned.

Since fewer than two people would be eligible to participate in a precinct committeemen caucus to fill this vacancy, Mike Ragan, Kosciusko County Republican Committee chairman, will appoint a person to fill the vacated position for the remaining unexpired term.

Morton won the November general election against Democrat Elizabeth Heiman, 27 to 22 votes.

He had 30 days from the beginning of the year to take his oath of office, which he never did. Morton did not attend the council’s Jan. 17 meeting.

Ragan said Councilman Benny Stage became concerned and they were able to track Morton down. Ragan said Morton informed them he would probably be moving out of Claypool, and Morton provided a letter of resignation on Jan. 30, the last day he could have taken his oath of office.

Eligible applicants for the seat must be residents of the middle district,  and be a Republican in good standing.

The town council vacancy will be filled at 2:30 p.m. Feb. 14 at the Kosciusko County Clerk’s Office, 121 N. Lake St., Warsaw.

Declarations of candidacy and statements of economic interests are available at the clerk’s office and must be notarized and filed with Ragan no later than 72 hours before the appointment.

Ragan can be contacted by phone at 574-265-1430.