Syracuse Chamber Honors Businesses, Individuals

SYRACUSE – In its most highly attended banquet yet, the Syracuse Chamber honored several local businesses and individuals Tuesday evening.
Nearly 200 people were on hand for the event at the Oakwood Inn and Conference Center.
Tammy Cotton, executive director, and Kristi Martin, assistant director, attributed the turnout to a more aggressive job of marketing the event, along with a new process for choosing award winners. They said this year’s award recipients were nominated by the membership.
In addition, it was the first time the event was held at Oakwood, a change from previous events that were held at the Syracuse Community Center.
“We’ve had lots of positive comments regarding the food and the venue,” Cotton said.
Eleven awards were presented:
• New business of the year – M The Market, Jeff Moerchen and Sara Kropf. Award sponsor, Interra Credit Union.
• Restaurant of the year – Westmain Tavern, Jason and Emily Traycoff. Award sponsor, The Papers Inc.
• Service Excellence – Sands Accounting Inc., Christine Sands. Award sponsor, MutualBank.
• Retailer of the Year – Revolving Closet, Kelly Wedehase. Award sponsor, Lake City Bank.
• Non-Profit/Service Organization of the Year – Wawasee Area Conservancy Foundation, Heather Harwood. Award sponsor, Team Tuttle Mortgage LLC.
• Young Professional Visionary Award – Dr. Erick Leffler. Award sponsor, Farmer’s State Bank.
• Outstanding Educator – Judy Wolfe. Award sponsor, Lakeland Animal Clinic.
• Man of the Year – Chad Jonsson. Award sponsor, Owen Family Funeral Home.
• Woman of the Year – Pam Schumm. Award sponsor. Award sponsor, Teghtmeyer Ace Hardware.
• Most Uniquely Syracuse – Syracuse Hardware, Chris Carboneau. Award sponsor, Northern Lakes Insurance.
• Ambassador of the Year – Chris Cotton. Award sponsor, Parker Hannifin.

(Story By The Times Union)