Warsaw Mayor Joe Thallemer Named 2022 Russel G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award Recipient During Aim Ideas Summit

Warsaw Mayor Joe Thallemer (R) receives the 2022 Russel G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award from Accelerate Indiana Municipalities (Aim). Also pictured is Jill Thallemer, Joe's wife. Photo provided by Aim.

FRENCH LICK – Warsaw Mayor Joe Thallemer received the 2022 Russel G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award from Accelerate Indiana Municipalities (Aim).

Thallemer was presented the award on Nov. 3 during the Presidents’ Reception at the 2022 Aim Ideas Summit, according to a news release from Aim.

Thallemer, a practicing optometrist, is serving his third term as Warsaw mayor. He also served three terms on the Warsaw Common Council and as a member of the city’s plan commission. Thallemer’s service to Aim has included membership on the Aim Legislative Committee, Board of Directors, president of the Aim Medical Trust Board of Trustees and the only Aim president to have been elected to two consecutive terms.

“Aim has a history of strong leaders. We’ve had amazing presidents from Indiana’s largest cities and smallest towns. However, Mayor Thallemer’s steadfast leadership of Aim and the Aim Medical Trust during a global pandemic left an indelible mark on our organization. You will not find a member of Aim who isn’t thrilled for Mayor Thallemer to receive Aim’s highest honor, the Lloyd,” said Aim CEO Matt Greller.

The Russell G. Lloyd Distinguished Service Award, named for former Evansville Mayor Lloyd, is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to local government. Nominees for this prestigious award must display accomplishments beyond their community, including contribution to Aim and public service, leadership and personal initiative, the news release states.

In its 46th year, the Aim Annual Awards program, presented by Baker Tilly Municipal Advisors LLC, recognizes communities and individuals in municipal government for excellence and outstanding achievement. A seven-member panel of qualified judges selected this year’s winners from a competitive field of nominees from around the state.

Since the 1890s, Aim, formerly the Indiana Association of Cities and Towns, has been an advocate for Indiana municipalities. Aim is the official voice of municipal government in Indiana, with more than 460 cities and towns as members. Aim’s purpose is to foster, promote and advocate for the success of Hoosier municipalities as laboratories of innovation, hubs of talent and the engines driving our state’s economy.