Warsaw, Tippecanoe Valley receive teacher residency program grants

Tippecanoe Valley High School. (Photo: Nick Deranek/News Now Warsaw)

Warsaw Community Schools and the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation were two of six school districts in the state to receive a $1,000 Residency Program Planning Grants to develop future teacher residency programs.

The announcement was made on Tuesday by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

Grants will be used to cover costs as each school corporation works with an Indiana higher education partner to develop a teacher residency program that will begin in the 2021-22 academic year.

The full list of planning grant recipients are listed with the respective higher education partner in parentheses:
• Elkhart Community Schools (Indiana University South Bend)
• Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District (Purdue University Fort Wayne)
• Griffith Public Schools (Indiana University-Purdue University-Northwest)
• Indianapolis Public Schools (Relay Graduate School of Education)
• Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation (Huntington University)
• Warsaw Community School (Grace College)

Planning grant recipients who decide to move forward with the teacher residency program must apply for the residency grant funding for the 2021-22 academic year no later than January 31, 2021.

More information is available here.