County agrees to provide officers for Warsaw, Tippecanoe Valley schools

Entrance of the Kosciusko County Sheriff's Office. News Now Warsaw photo.
Staff Report

WARSAW — Kosciusko County has agreed to provide two additional school resource officers for Warsaw Community Schools and Tippecanoe Valley School corporations.

Kosciusko County Council heard a presentation Thursday night and approved a four-year plan unanimously.

Warsaw intends to use its additional officer at Leesburg, Madison, and Claypool elementary schools.

Tippecanoe Valley plans to use its officer at the middle school and Mentone and Akron elementary schools. 

The county will cover 20 percent of the salary. The two officers will serve as patrols during the summertime.

As a result, the sheriff’s office will hire two more officers.

The Times-Union has a full report on the vote. You can find that story here.